Career Day

Career Day

I was invited to do Career Day at Fernie’s one and only elementary school last week. When approached about it I thought to myself, “I don’t have a career in anything…” I continued reading the message and saw that they wanted me there as a ‘professional athlete’ and I was excited to be able to give back to the community I grew up in, I knew I had a story that would be different than your average profession and I thought it would interest the kids. I had just gotten back from a 10 day ski trip, and had one morning to prep my presentation that I ended up repeating 5 times.

I spoke of how my writing has helped me achieve goals as a skier and how important it is for not only approaching sponsors and companies but also universities, jobs and out of town sports teams. The kids we’re stoked, I even signed autographs which I did not expect to do.

I almost didn’t get this photo, I was walking away after my last presentation and ran back to this class. I am ever so glad I did.

One thought on “Career Day

  1. Looks pretty professional to me! Great tribute to you, Caleb. Your presentation may have come together hastily; but it’s substance was not without a lot of hard work and miles of travel. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

