STORM CYCLES DAY 1: Once, and a Blue Moon.

My life the past few weeks has been non-stop – go, go, go. Between work at GearHub, Dj-ing multiple times a week, backcountry trips, holidays, thousands of dollars at the dentist, and preparing for the Storm Cycles trip I haven’t had much time to relax. Not that that is a bad thing, I love being on the go all of the time but I do know how important it is to relax, but I know the next few weeks are going to be action packed with travel days, interviews and long days of skiing. A busy life is a good life.

For those of you that don’t know what this trip is all about I’ll explain what is going to happen in the next 18 days. First, I am flying to Chicago just to meet up with the rest of the gang; 3 more athletes and 2 film/production guys. From Chicago we are boarding the AMTRACK train and heading all the way back up to Montana where we will be cat skiing at Great Northern Powder Guides for one day, then we’re going to spend 2 days in a backcountry yurt with a guide. After Montana, were headed again by train to Stevens Pass. For those of you that don’t know about Stevens Pass, it is one of the better known zones for backcountry skiing in America. There we will be spending 2 or 3 days skiing and filming. From Stevens Pass we get back on the train up to Vancouver and continue on to Whistler where we will finish our trip in style, with a private house with a hot tub and I’ve lined up 2 potential gigs for Sam (my brother) and I to DJ at. That is a quick run through of the next couple weeks in my shoes. I will be updating this site as much as I can so stay tuned  for lots of photos and exciting stories!

The past week of preparation has been mentally exhausting, more so that physically even with the busy days at the GearHub and squeezing in days on the snow. I have been making sure I have everything I need to make the most of this trip. Constant back and fourth emails with the producers, phone calls with my reps, lists, lists and more lists and then packing. It’s been a bit of an emotional roller coaster as well, from being so stoked to go, then nervous; hoping I have everything I need, then once I had everything all laid out I felt excited again, then I packed it away and couldn’t see it anymore so I got nervous and anxious again. Then we hit road, excited, my companion and I headed towards the boarder at Eureka. In Elko I realized I left my backup coat on the couch at home – not worth turning back for, but still a piece of my well organized puzzle was missing…

We arrived at the boarder, confident that we were going to be let through without any troubles, but we were quickly asked to go inside after I told them I was going on a ski trip and my first destination was Chicago. “Where are you going skiing in Chicago?” The boarder guard said as he chuckled, “There’s no skiing there!” He’s right, there isn’t.

We sat and waited for almost 2 hours, wondering what they heck was going on. Did they find my itinerary that explained my film trip? Are they worried I’m coming here to make money? In fact, they had found something that we were not supposed to have. That I will leave up to your imagination, all I can say is that I thought the trip that hadn’t even really began was ending right in front of my eyes. At first I felt like vomiting, then I was calmed by my thought and latest motto, ‘Everything is how it should be.’ They split us up, patted us down and somehow, under the circumstances, let us continue on our way.

We walked out to the car, which looked like a hurricane had passed through it, all of my gear that I had so meticulously packed was thrown about, “Forget repacking now let’s get the hell out of here” I said. We then drove off with a backpack on the roof of the car, only to realize 5 minutes later and we had to drive back to the boarder and pick it up off the road. “Whoops!”

I can’t believe I made it to my flight on time, now enjoying one of my favourite American treats, a Blue Moon, and relaxing for the first time in a while.

I am reminiscing on how incredible the lessons are that are thrown at us, and higher powers working with, or against us. Things can look so grim, and turn out so well. I don’t know what made them let us go, but I think Connor had something to do with it. Our guardian, that will forever be watching over us.

I am flying above the clouds now, which is an absolutely beautiful pink and purple blanket beneath the plane, the sun slowly setting behind me as I head East to Chicago.

One thought on “STORM CYCLES DAY 1: Once, and a Blue Moon.

Leave a Reply

